January 14, 2009

This is taking forever + 1 day!

6 Responses to “”

  1. Jody said

    I use a toothpick to hold the crystal in place before I lift the tool up. Works great and that way the crystal doesn’t come up with the tool and make you lose your sanctification!! Your quilts are drop dead gorgeous.

  2. vickid said

    Your work is beautiful! Just wanted to give you an idea about picking up crystals. I use to be a manicurist and would put them on peoples nails. The best way we found to apply is with an orange wood stick. they are very cheep and you can pick them up anywhere. Get the end of the stick moist and touch the crystal and it will stick. I always kept the end of the stick in my mouth until needed. Sounds gross but wasn’t too bad.
    Good luck, I hope this helps.
    Vicki

  3. Vicki W said

    I don’t know if you care about this, but when I am applying a lot of crystals I place a bunch of them in an area, cover it CAREFULLY with a press cloth and them fuse them with my iron – being careful that the crystals aren’t under a steam hole. I got tired of doing them one at a time and the iron works great.

  4. Adam, I don’t have the same one you have, and once in a while one will get stuck in the applicator tip, but not all that often. I haven’t used it in awhile, but if memory serves me correctly, you:

    Pick up the stone with the tip, watch the glue and when it just starts to bubble up, which is only seconds, then you just touch it down, where you want it on the quilt, and then quite quickly lift the applicator back up. The crystal should stay put. Maybe you are pushing down too firmly when you are applying it to quilt, thus lodging it in the tip? Just a thought, and I hope you don’t mind my unsolicited advice! 🙂

  5. KK said

    Adam – I had the same issues with my little hot stick – then someone told me they had seen a demo and you need a toothpick or a stiletto and you put it in the little openings and pop the crystal out after it gets hot and the glue has melted. In other words – it’s supposed to stick – then you put the crystal on the applicator down in the precise place you want it and use the stilleto to hold it down and pull the applicator away. It took me a minute to get it but it works great. I had gone to the flat head as you have but I found I was causing the crystals to flip around like little tiddlywinks -very frustrating.

    The quilt is just fabulous and the crystals are the icing on the cake.

  6. shirley bruner said

    like KK said….i use a pin to put in the opening of the tip of the applicator. hold the crystal down, raise the applicator and hold down with the pin for a second or 2. mine always seem to stick in the applicator also until i tried the pin trick. it goes pretty quickly. i use a wooden chopping block to put the crystals on and the applicator. that quilt is just awesome…i know you will win a ribbon or 4. good luck

Leave a Reply

