With Silk On Wool Embroidery.

December 17, 2008

dscn6786

dscn6791

I’m amazed at the texture this background design has. Those pebbles are popping up and the outlining is absolutely flat and pounded down because it’s so dense.  That’s exactly what I wanted when I sketched this design out, I love when the execution of an idea actually works.

My other reason for such a dense fill?

dscn6787

The dense stitching in contrasting thread against the black back has completely changed the color in that area. Love it.

Also my thread stopped snapping! And my bobbin is making noise when it’ almost empty so i can stop and replace it and there’s no need to pick back stitches to tie off.

5 Responses to “With Silk On Wool Embroidery.”

  1. Deb Levy said

    Looking fabulous Adam! I love dense background fills too because it makes everything around them stand up and pop giving tremendous texture and contrast.

    Can’t wait to see this one done.

  2. Lynda in the mtns of NC said

    So glad things are going well (said with fingers crossed in fear of jinxing it)! It’s so much more fun when you don’t have to fight your tools!! Looking absolutely great!

  3. Ami said

    Wow it looks amazing so far……………bet it comes home from MQX with a ribbon!!!!!

    Isn’t it wonderful when your concept actually comes together and looks perfect!!!!!!!

    As soon as I get the customer quilt off my frame I am loading up one of my own tops and hopefully can get quilted by our Friber Arts Fiesta entry deadline…………wish I could quilt just for me…………….I am most jealous of you and you quilting time just for you.

  4. Debbie said

    I absolutely love the background filler. Can hardly wait to see the entire quilt finished. It will be fabulous and you are to be congratulated on your vision for this quilt. When time permits (ha, ha) would you consider videoing a quick tutorial on your background filler? Again, great job!

  5. Vicki said

    Your work is stunning! The top and the quilting are absolutely amazing! I can’t wait to see more as you work on it.

Leave a Reply

