Applique Follow up.

September 25, 2008

I need to figure out how to reply to comments until that happens, here’s how i roll.

I design the applique with paper and pencil

I scan the applique into photoshop and tweak it, adjust it, often times mirror it if i’m only drawing half.

Then I print on to Ricky Tim’s Stable Stuff. Let me clarify that the ONLY reason I use his product is because it’s already cut at 8.5×11 My prefered product is Floriani stitch and wash fusible, which apparently comes in 8.5×11 sheets (just found that out, sigh) but i have a big roll. It’s the same weight at the Stable Stuff, but it has a fusible on it, so you can skip a step in the gluing process.

The edges are turned with my thumb nail, which I grew out just for applique. They’re ironed dry/flat and then glued together with the school glue. I applique them down with sulky mono (it’s a poly) using the zig zag on my bernina 1.6 width, 2 length.

The most important part to doing this method of applique (as I’ve learned over the past few months) is that the finished quilt can’t just be washed. It had to be soaked. The stabilizer will turn to fiber when wet, but the glue doesn’t come out with just one quick washing. It needs to sit for a few hours (i do overnight) and then it can be washed regularly.

I wash in cold with synthrapol. I use cold because of the way myfabrics are dyed. I can’t wash in hot after using retayne. There you go, applianswers.

2 Responses to “Applique Follow up.”

  1. Debbie said

    Thanks Adam, I appreciate you taking the time to share your techniques!

  2. Brenda K. said

    Thanks Adam, I am always searching for better ways to do things and the photos and descriptions are so helpful.

Leave a Reply

