Lemme tell ya.

July 23, 2008

Stitching in the ditch without a ruler isn’t NEARLY as fun as you think it might be.  HOWEVER, I thank god for the following.

1. Finally getting my leaders on straight! If you don’t know the hinterberg frame is pretty much held together with prayer and duct tape. No seriously. Duct tape. Anyway, as I am partially blind it was impossible for my to tape 120 inches of leader onto a pipe with an almost invisible line, but I think I finally got it today.

2. Quitling for a full bobbin and not having my sulky monofilament break once.

3. Actually getting the top on the back straight. Praise jesus, when I was basting across the front my line of basting stitches was even with everything on both sides.

4. I can’t believe i’m saying this…but…I seem to have perfect tension while i’m stitching in the ditch. My so fine isn’t showing on the top and my monofilament isn’t showing on the back.

5. Hobbs wool is FANTASTIC. Love it.

6. My fabrics look like suede and I like that. My border, as my mommy pointed out looks like velvet.

7. Did I mention the tension? It’s perfect.

Things I am not so thankful for, but I’m not REALLY bitching about.

1. The inability to use a ruler with the Voyager. I actually tried, but the way the foot is so ridiculously chunky inhibits proper placement of the ruler.

2. My own inability to stitch a straight line diagonally Horizontal and vertical I can rock hardcore, but that diaganol troubles me.

3. Overroating cost me a needle today. I have like 3 left and it takes for FREAKING ever for the place i get needles from to ship.

4. My feet are killing me.

2 Responses to “Lemme tell ya.”

  1. myolivebranch said

    7 things you’re thankful for and only 4 that you are not really crabbing about…..i’d say you’re ahead!

    i have trouble diagonally stitching straight too. not that you asked……

  2. Connie said

    Adam, I read your article in Quilter’s Home–nice job! I’m more sinful than I would have thought. 🙂 Lucky for me, I just don’t give a hoot.

Leave a Reply

